About

Garrard Arts Center

Open Hours

Wednesday - Friday 11 am-5 pm
First Saturday of the month
10 am - 2 pm

206 Lexington Road
Lancaster Kentucky
859 334 0422

Garrard Arts - Our Story

The Garrard County Arts Council had it’s beginnings in 2008, becoming a 501(c) 3 nonprofit organization in 2012.

A group of civic minded people, with a heart for the arts, began the dream of an organization that would engage citizens of Lancaster Kentucky in the arts.  Working with limited resources, we set out to enrich the lives of old and young with an array of art experiences.  With support from local businesses and volunteers, we worked to acquire a physical space where people could share their passion and develop artistic skills.

In 2018 we lost the lease on our first home on Richmond Street which we had labored to renovate.  We marched ahead homeless yet not without a determined spirit.  With the goal of never being at the mercy of a landlord again we purchased the historic Wherritt House at 206 Lexington Street.   While owing a building was a definite step forward it was not without challenges.

The Wherritt house, on the National Register of Historic Places, began life in the early 1800’s as a log cabin built of hickory timbers with poplar floors for Ms. Mary Jane Miller and her husband W.H. Wherritt.  The house grew with Lancaster and after 200 years became the new Garrard Arts Center.   After replacing the HVAC equipment, the decks at the entrances, some windows and gutters and volunteers doing lots of cleanup work, we opened our doors in 2020, ready to share art experiences with the community.

Board Members

President Geri Trinler 859 583 0104

859 334 0422

geri.trinler@garrardarts.com

Vice President Peggy Gaffney

859 334 0422

 peggy.gaffney@garrardarts.com

Secretary Judy Burkhead 859 334 0422

judy.burkhead@garrardarts.com 

Treasurer Loretta Rinthen 859 334 0422

loretta.rinthen@garrardarts.com

Art Center Director Bobbie Gayle Lewis

 859 948 6988 859 334 0422

bglewis@garrardarts.com

Membership Chair Dewayne Horn

859 336 6703 859 334 0422

Dewayne.horn@garrardarts.com

Our Mission